Vegan Strawberry Walnut Pancakes

vegan, breakfast, strawberry walnut pancakes

Ever wake up and just feel like making pancakes?

I know I do.

This past Sunday, I woke up with a hankering for interesting pancakes. I looked through my fridge and found some strawberries that were about to turn and a bag of walnuts.

Strawberries?

Walnuts?

Pancakes?

Sold. I adapted a recipe out of La Dolce Vegan to fit my strawberry-walnut pancake dream and my little experiment turned out beautifully. They were sweet, fluffy and had just a hidden crunch. What can be more satisfying for breakfast? I’m not sure, but I’m sure I’ll share with you when I find it.

Strawberry Walnut Pancakes

1C All-purpose flour

1/2tsp baking powder

1/2tsp baking soda

1/4tsp vanilla extract

1 1/4C “milk” (I use almond)

1T canola oil

1/2C chopped strawberries

1/4C chopped walnuts

  • Combine the flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a large bowl.
  • Mix your vanilla, milk,  and oil in a separate bowl.
  • Combine your dry and wet ingredients until just mixed. A few lumps are ok. If you over mix, your pancakes will get kind of rubbery and that’s no good. We want fluffy, not rubbery.
  • Gently fold in your strawberries and walnuts.
  • Heat a small amount of oil in a skillet or on a griddle over medium heat. Put a scoop of batter on your skillet and cook until you see a bunch of bubbles (roughly 5 minutes or so.)
  • Than it’s time to flip! Flip your pancake and cook until golden.
  • Top with maple syrup or whatever toppings you like. Depending on the size of your scoop, recipes make about 8 pancakes.
7 thoughts on “Vegan Strawberry Walnut Pancakes

Leave a Reply

