Lazy Sunday Funday Weekly Wrap-Up: 4/6/2014

vegan, cats, beauty, vegan food

It’s another Lazy Sunday Funday! So glad you could join me, friend! This Lazy Sunday Funday I made brunch for my husband and I, then I plan on reading a good book and enjoying what’s left of our beautiful weather, since Summer is Coming (cue dramatic Game of Thrones music here.)

What are your plans for Lazy Sunday Funday?

Hot Topic of The Week: Happy 80th Birthday, Jane Goodall!

Along with Diane Fossey, she’s been one of my heroes since I was a kid and has been an inspiration to yours truly (she is partially the reason why I have a degree in Anthropology.) Jane Goodall is well-known for her amazing work studying chimpanzees, spanning from 1960 to 1983 work. Now that she has retired from her biological studies, she is now focused on conservationist activism. Way to rock it, Jane!

Vegan Product of The Week: Concrete Minerals Super Pigmented Eyeshadow

Yes, this week I’m changing it up and presenting a beauty product this week. When I was looking to veganize my make-up bag, I was relieved to stumble upon Concrete Minerals.

concrete minerals vegan, cruelty-free makeup

Colors from top: Ruse, Frost, Arsenic

Concrete Minerals makes 100% cruelty-free, gluten-free, preservative-free makeup at a price you can afford. The variety of eyeshadow colors can’t be beat and it will definitely appeal to the punk rocker that lives inside you. No really, now I’m off to find my plaid pants, studded belt and then dye my hair a funky color. Now where is that Sex Pistols cd?

Belly Rub Approval Rating: 5 out of 5 Belly Rubs

 

What’s Cooking in The House of Snuggles This Week:

Breakfast: Oatmeal and Banana Muffins

Yes, it’s oatmeal again. Good thing there are about 1,000 ways to make oatmeal so it stays interesting. This weekend, I got wild and crazy and created a simple and delicious vegan banana muffin as well. Stay tuned for the recipe this week!

Lunch: Fiesta Pita

Whole grain pita, guacamole, greens, tomatoes, red onions, and black beans make a simple and delicious sandwich to brighten up your mid-day meal.

Dinner: Spaghetti Marinara

Simple, easy, delicious. This is my go to dish with money is tight and time is limited. To prevent boredom from setting in, you can get really creative and add all kinds of things like tofu, Portobello mushrooms, and fresh basil.

Snack: Oranges, Oranges, Oranges

My co-worker has an orange tree that is very plentiful this year. He gifted me a giant bag of fresh oranges so I will be getting creative over the next week on how to use them up. Any suggestions are welcome!!

Peaceful Dumpling Contribution For This Week: Three Furry Friends You Should Consider Adopting

This week I discuss 3 types of fur babies that find themselves in shelters and are often overlooked. If you are considering adopting a new furry family member please check out this piece. These animals end up in shelters and are among the first to be euthanized because they are deemed “unadoptable.”  I find this an unacceptable term since these animals have so much to give to the family that is willing to adopt them.

That’s it Snuggle Friends! Have a beautiful Sunday! Peace, love, and cupcakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

