A Very Vegan St. Patrick’s Day

Good Morning, Snuggle Friends and Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you!

I think this is one of my top 3 favorite holidays of the year! I do have a fair amount of Irish pride (my great-grandmother instilled it in me at a young age) so my love for this holiday may be a bit biased.

Here are a few interesting facts about St. Patrick’s Day:

  • St. Patrick’s Day is an American holiday. It began being celebrated in the 18th century by Irish immigrants to show solidarity and reconfirmed their ethnic bond.
  • St. Patrick died on March 17th
  • You have a chance of about 1 in 10,000 of finding a four-leaf clover
  • St. Patrick didn’t drive snakes out of Ireland. It’s a metaphor for driving out pagan traditions and converting pagans to Christianity.
  • St. Patrick’s Day was a dry holiday until 1970.

(Want more fun facts check this out here.)

Now my favorite part of St. Patrick’s day is spending time with my people and enjoying delicious Irish fare. Since I became vegan, it’s been on the difficult side to find vegan irish food out and about (at least in my corner of the world), so this has now become a holiday spent at home with Husband and fur-babies. Since I love to cook, I whip up my favorite dish, Shepherd’s Pie, pour myself some good irish whiskey and dance a jig with the kitties (Calypso is a dancing queen!)

VEGAN SHEPHERDS PIE

My Top Five Favorite Things About St. Patrick’s Day:

  1. Green Beer
  2. Irish Food
  3. The Color Green
  4. Shenanigans
  5. Good Times with Good People

What are your favorite St. Patrick’s Day traditions?

2 thoughts on “A Very Vegan St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Pingback: Easy Peasy Vegan Shepherd’s Pie | House of Snuggles

Leave a Reply

