5 Ways to Feed Your Brain

Neil Gaiman is always a good read.

Neil Gaiman is always a good read.

Here at the House of Snuggles, we not only believe in creating a healthy bod but also a healthy mind. So instead of sharing a nom nom food post with you all today, I decided to go a little abstract and talk a minute about feeding our minds. We get so tied up in the day-to-day interactions that we often neglect one of our most important aspects about being human and that’s exercising our mind. So I encourage you to put down your phone,turn off the t.v and shut down your computer (after reading my blog, of course) and take about an hour a day to unplug, recharge, and get out of that hazy, brain funk. You know what I’m talking about.

It’s easy and I’m here to help you.

1) Meditate and do yoga. Get in touch with your spiritual side. I know many of you might be skeptical but just try it. The calm and relaxation that you will feel afterwards will get addicting, I promise.

2) Let’s get physical! Go run, or walk, or jump up and down for a half hour. Your body needs exercise and so does your brain. Get the old, stagnant, yucky feelings out and get those good mood juices flowing. Don’t know where to start? It’s ok, check out Pinterest for some suggestions.

3) Play mind games. I’m not talking about manipulating your neighbor, those are the bad kind. I’m talking about crossword puzzles, math problems, or sudoku. Anything that stimulates problem solving and critical thinking. These kinds of puzzles help prevent neurodegenerative diseases.

4) Read, read, read. I mean it, pick up a good book and get involved in a great story. Don’t like to read? I don’t want to hear it. There is something for everyone out there. Here are some suggestions: read Game of Thrones or Harry Potter, both are page turners and your imagination can create a way better movie than anything Hollywood would put out. Or pick up a book and learn something, maybe a new language or skill.

5) Ok, here’s actually something you ingest. Make sure you get plenty of omega-3s. Your brain loves fatty acids,especially omega-3, in fact it needs them to support proper function. Omega-3s are mostly found in fish but try these vegan alternatives to fish: walnuts, kidney and pinto beans, spinach, broccoli, pumpkin and flax seeds.

Cuddle Snuggles with a furry friend also helps too.

Cuddle Snuggles with a furry friend also helps too.

Nothing too hard, right? Alright my little star shines, go make it happen! Along with adequate nutrition, relaxation and sleep, you should see that your alertness and brain power will improve with time.

4 thoughts on “5 Ways to Feed Your Brain

  1. joypcynlove

    Hi Krystle,

    Thanks for putting this list together. I appreciate the insight and time you took to put this together. One of my favorite things to do that helps my brain power (dunno, hope it helps the ol’ noggin’) is to create. Doesn’t matter what – actual art, writing a blog, working on designing my website, cooking a whole-food plant-based nom nom meal, (added benefit of giving me tummy power :)) Listening to Ludovico Einaudi while doing this makes it all the more pleasurable. Enjoy your evening!

    In lovingkindness,
    Alex (a.k.a. Joy P. Cynlove)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Krystle Post author

      Thanks for sharing! I agree the creative process is great for boosting brain power as well (why didn’t I think if that?) So glad you enjoyed my post! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and ideas as well!! 🙂
      P.s. Love your pseudonym!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Bianca

    I have one more thing to add: hydratation. Water, water and more water.
    Totally agree on the meditation, if only to shut up my monkey mind!
    Enjoyed this posting, thank you. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

