Vegan Cooking: Pumpkin Soup

It's important to wear protective gear when chopping pumpkins.

It’s important to wear protective gear when chopping pumpkins.

I had received a beautiful little pumpkin in my Chow Box. Perfectly symmetrical with an intense orange hue and barely any blemishes on its skin. I let it sit on my counter so I could admire its beauty. Then finally came the day that I had to do it. I had to cook my prize. Devastating, for someone who appreciates the beauty in plants, but that sucker needed to get into my belly.

I started by preheating my oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and cutting my orange orb in half. I scooped out the seeds and saved them because I’ll roast those later. Then I drizzled a light amount of olive oil on each half. Placing them face down on a baking sheet,  I placed my beloved pumpkin into the oven. After about an hour, the flesh was soft enough to be pierced by a fork. I let it cool and then proceeded to scoop the flesh into my food processor to blend into an awesome purée.  This pumpkin produced 4 cups of purée which might be an overwhelming amount for some but it was a challenge for me. You see, there are a bunch of ways you can sneak a little pumpkin puree into your everyday life. Try adding it to oatmeal, soup, stew or chili. Use it as a substitute for a portion of the oil when baking breads and muffins. Add it to yogurt (haven’t tried this yet but sounds scrumptious, doesn’t it?) Also you can try to make pumpkin spice hummus (I bet you didn’t think of that, now did you?)

I decided to make soup. I made this super basic so you could add anything to it. The makings of soup

  • 1 small onion
  • 1 Tbsp of olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1C pumpkin puree
  • 1 1/2C of vegetable broth
  • salt and pepper to taste

First in a medium pot, saute the onion in oil until translucent. Then saute the garlic for about 30 seconds. Then add the pumpkin puree, vegetable broth, salt and pepper, bring to a boil then let simmer for about 10 minutes. Then very carefully blend with an immersion blender. Enough for 2 large servings.

Pair with a leafy green salad and you have an antioxidant party on a plate.

Pair with a leafy green salad and you have an antioxidant party on a plate.

There. Easy. Tasty. Try experimenting with it maybe add some hot sauce or additional squash like butternut or acorn. The possibilities are endless.

Usually on these types of posts I try to give some nutritional information but, guess what? I already posted some information here when I made the pumpkin cookies. Mmmmm, drool.

If you had 4 cups of fresh pumpkin puree, what would you cook up?

Leave a Reply

