New to cooking? 4 Helpful Gadgets

One of my main beliefs that I represent in the House of Snuggles is that making food from scratch with fresh ingredients is more nutritious and tastier than buying food that comes in a box. It’s true and I’m here to help you try it. You only need a few skills to learn some cooking and baking basics to get going and these can be readily learned from any cookbook, Google, or Youtube. As far as kitchen tools go, all you really need is very basic kitchen items such as pots and pans, a cutting board, and some decent knives but there are a few other gadgets that I recommend that do make life a bit easier. So without further ado, I present to you, The Kitchen Fabulous Food Making Team.

The Food Processor

Everybody Salsa!!!

Everybody Salsa!!!

Now I thought I could live without one of these things. Until I kept coming across recipes that highly recommended using one to make life easier. I was like, fuck that, I’m old school and I hate technology. I also already had a blender. That should work the same, right? They do but once you get into the nitty-gritty you’ll see that they do serve different functions. Food processors are more built for chopping and shredding hard food while blenders are built for mixing and pulverizing soft food. Granted both work pretty well interchangeable depending on the models that you have but I’ll tell you, mixing up some salsa in a food processor is way easier than a blender. The wide bowl makes for easier access when blending pie fillings, hummus, and nut butters. I have also used this bad boy to slice and dice veggies for salads in a matter of seconds so it does serve numerous functions.

The Immersion Blender

This little guy is fantastic for soup!

This little guy is fantastic for soup!

Again it was something I thought I could live without. I mean I have a regular blender and it does the same thing right? Well yeah it does, but this is another convenience thing. Immersion blenders make blending soup so much easier (and I am a huge fan of creamy soups) and less dangerous (even though I have been splattered by lava hot soup a couple of times by being reckless and living on the edge). It is also super awesome for making one person smoothies. This Kitchen Aide model comes in a bunch of fun colors and with a personal smoothie cup with a lid so you can blend and run.

The Knives

Kitchen Aide Knife setOK I did always want a beautiful set of knives. Ones that would allow me to chop and mince like a professional (still waiting for those skills to show up). I set my eyes on these babies back when I was registering for wedding gifts. I mean look at how many you get and they have a huge carving knife (which turned out to be really great for cutting watermelon and squash or as a prop for photos for my husband’s Michael Myers Halloween costume.)

The Mixer

Hey there, Pie Bird, someday this will be your show.

Hey there, Pie Bird, someday this will be your show.

I know this isn’t really a cooking instrument and it’s more for baking but it’s the pride and joy of my kitchen. Since I have always been a baker, I have fantasized about my awesome vintage Kitchen Aide Stand Up Mixer and all of the wonderful cookies, cakes, and pastries I would be able to create. I know mine isn’t vintage but once they started coming out with awesome colors I couldn’t resist (Again with the colors, I’m a girl, I know.) This thing has lived up to all of my expectations and more considering it came with three different blades and there are so many more other accessories that you can get, like a pasta thingy and an ice cream doodad attachment.

So here they are, my kitchen team. Buying all of this stuff can get pretty pricey but it’s totally worth the investment. I received these as wedding/birthday/Christmas gifts from my husband (awe insert sappy sitcom music here) because he understands my unnatural obsession with food, the creative process of preparation and my stubborn goal of making almost everything from scratch. I know they are all Kitchen Aide and there may be better brands out there but I just really like everything to match and Kitchen Aide has a pretty freaking good reputation. Next, I’m in the market for a juicer. Anyone have any recommendations?

What are your favorite gadgets?

6 thoughts on “New to cooking? 4 Helpful Gadgets

    1. Krystle Post author

      We looked at one of those but found that it had mixed reviews. So we didn’t end up buying on since they are kind of expensive. Thanks for the heads up.

      Like

      Reply
  1. celestedimilla

    The only item I have from your gadget list is a set of knives, and a crappy set at that! I keep telling myself I’ve got to get more knives, but I never seem to get around to it. One day… As far as my favorite kitchen gadget, it’s got to be my Vitamix blender. I honestly don’t know what I’d do without it. I use it to make smoothies, healthy hot chocolate, salad dressings, hummus and you name it! I also love how easy it is to clean! And no, I’m not working for them, I just really love my Vitamix. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Krystle Post author

      Oooooooooh Vitamix. I’ve heard good things about those. Our Whole Foods had a demonstration a couple of weeks ago and there were so many people we couldn’t get close enough to try anything.
      I think knives are pretty important as far as kitchenware goes. Before I got my set, I used a $2 carving knife from Target which worked ok until it got dull. The cool thing about the set I got is that it has a sharpener built into the storage block.

      Like

      Reply
      1. celestedimilla

        If you ever do invest in a Vitamix, I recommend a refurbished one from the Vitamix website. That’s what I got and I’m happy with it. It was cheaper than new and the one I got seemed just as good as new to me. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

