Vegan Breakfast: Pumpkin Waffles

A great way to start your day: Pumpkin Waffles!!

A great way to start your day: Pumpkin Waffles!!

Hey there, it’s Sunday morning. I woke up this morning feeling a little bit like I needed more pumpkin in my life. After making the Sell Your Soul Cookies, I just felt that it wasn’t enough. As I took my pup for his morning constitutional I gave it some thought. The sun was just peeking over the mountains, just slightly warming the chilly, desert air, and it came to me: pumpkin waffles. Oh boy, the awesome deliciousness of pumpkin pie but in breakfast form? (You see, I’ll get that flava any way I can without actually making a pie-insert sad pie bird here). So I wondered back home and began creating this delicious delight. A little bit of pumpkin, a little bit of cinnamon, and a little bit of sass. That’s right, sass, it’s very important. So I went through my cupboards to find the fresh jar of cinnamon that I bought yesterday only to find that dummy me bought cinnamon sticks, not ground cinnamon. (I guess it pays to slow down and read the label…) So I put on my problem solver pants and came up with this solution: I’ll just throw that shit into my coffee grinder and see what happens. Seeing that some of the bark was a little thick, I threw a couple of sticks into my food processor to break it down a bit, followed by fine tuned grinding in the coffee grinder. To my surprise this crazy plan actually worked and is actually better than the pre-ground stuff. Sweet. Not only do I have awesome smelling ground cinnamon but the traces of it left in my coffee grinder created cinnamon flavored french roast. Double bonus!!! A word of caution though: if you try this, do not, I repeat, do not get the fresh ground cinnamon in your eyes- that shit burns!!!!!! (I swear I need fucking goggles when I do anything!)

Try a short stack!

Try a short stack!

OK, so back to the subject at hand: pumpkin waffles. I flipped through Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Vegan With A Vengeance because I vaguely remember seeing a recipe for pumpkin waffles in there and low and behold I was right! The recipe makes a lot and since it’s just me that will be partaking of this sweet, breakfast delight I had to cut it in half. Over all, a great end result and my tummy is super happy. Only complaint that I have is that waffle irons are kind of a bitch to clean, especially if you get overly excited at the end and overfill the plates-like this girl right here did and it oozes out the sides and gets stuck in all the cracks.

Unlike the cookies, this recipe does not require you to reduce the pumpkin which is good if your really hungry since reducing pumpkin takes some time. This recipe also called for oil and didn’t specify. I used coconut oil just for kicks and it turned out pretty scrumptious. I ate these with just a drizzle of maple syrup but you could probably top these with a dusting of powdered sugar or make them super healthy and spread some type of nut butter (I’m sure almond would be fantastic) in between two waffles and make a sandwich. Or turn them into a dessert and put vanilla ice cream on top (now why didn’t I think of that when I was eating them…) Either way, use your imagination to make these super exciting-not that having a pumpkin waffles isn’t already exciting.

Nom nom nom nom get in my belly!

Nom nom nom nom get in my belly!

Leave a Reply

