Vegan Baking: Pumpkin Cookie Delight

You know nothing says Halloween season like pumpkin (aside from the giant bags of candy at Target, scary movies, and dressing up in a fun costume.) Of course, pumpkin under normal circumstances is nutritious and delicious. Why would we want to go that route though? I will probably get to the healthy stuff eventually seeing as there are more pumpkins in my future but this time is going to be a sweet adventure.

You see, pumpkins are awesome cancer fighters. They have the antioxidant beta-carotene which is one of those put-up-your-dukes kinds of antioxidants. A half cup of cooked pumpkin also has 24 calories, 6,115 IU of vitamin A, 282 mg of potassium, and a whopping 6,012 micrograms of carotenoids just to name of a few of the benefits. Pumpkin is also crazy versatile, meaning it can be dessert, it can be dinner, or it can be a snack(Mmmmm seeds, drool.)

So anyways, I just happened to have a can of pumpkin puree and I sat down to think about how I could transform it into something for my sweet tooth. For me, it’s too early in the year for pumpkin pie. As I flipped through my copy of Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar (I know, I know, when I get some extra cash I’ll invest in a new book). I stumbled upon a recipe for “Sell Your Soul Pumpkin Cookies.” Sell your soul, you say? I accept the challenge. Without any hesitation, I whipped these beauties together and was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. Not only did they deliver on their promise to be good enough to part with your soul, they were also like pumpkin pie but in a cookie cakey form. Needless to say, this batch of cookies did not last very long. This batch has also convinced me the Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero know what the fuck they are doing, so if you haven’t checked out any of their cookbooks yet you should probably do that.

Have some cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger and a can of pumpkin puree just laying around? Why not throw it into some cookies? Or something else pumpkiny... or something...

Have some cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger and a can of pumpkin puree just laying around? Why not throw it into some cookies? Or something else pumpkiny… or something…

Looking for other ways to turn healthy veggies into something desserty? Check out this post on carrots.

Leave a Reply

