Vegan Baking: Awesome Vegan Brownies.

You ever have one of those days? I mean the ones where nothing goes right? I know I do. I come home from a long day and one of the only things that helps me unwind is baking. Let’s get this straight, most days eating is not a form of therapy for me but the whole creative process, the science experiment, and the mystery outcome produces a zen like state in my brain. “Krystle, why don’t you cook instead? It’s kind of the same thing.” Shut up, no it’s not. I like baking better. I’m not as skilled in cooking yet and if anyone has ever seen me in the kitchen it takes me hours to prepare simple things. Baking is also easier to share with others, especially non-vegans, since you can pretty much trick them into trying just about any type of baked delight.

So, brownies. They’re not too difficult and there are a wide variety of recipes. The one that is featured here is fairly simple and takes no time to make. It’s from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s and Terry Hope Romero’s Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar. This is an ok recipe, I found my finished product to be a little dry but that could also be due to baker error and not the recipe. So check it out and bake it, see what you think.

First you need your brownie team (You’ll notice the pie birds in the background waiting to join in the fun but they just need to chill the fuck out and sit this one out):

Look! Here are all of the ingredients.

Look! Here are all of the ingredients.

First pre-heat your oven to 325 degrees F. Then you mix all that shit together. Just slow down a minute there’s a procedure. Mix the wet stuff together first, your “milk”, oil, silken tofu, sugar, and vanilla extract. Then sift the dry stuff together- flour, cornstarch, cocoa, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl. Then combine everything together like here:

Mmmmmm looks good enough to eat out of the bowl. (Yeah I might have had a taste or two....)

Mmmmmm looks good enough to eat out of the bowl. (Yeah I might have had a taste or two….or ten)

Once mixed all the way through, pour that shit into a 8×8 square pan and smooth out the top.

Look at that. It's gonna be goooooooood...

Throw this your oven and let it chill for about 30 minutes

And then we play the waiting game…

Wait for about 30 minutes. You can do it.

Wait for about 30 minutes. You can do it.

As you are basking in the glow of comforting chocolate aroma and dreaming of the brownie delight to come, you will begin to day dream of a better tomorrow and feel like just maybe you can try to conquer the world again. Then ding! The timer goes off. Test the middle of your treats with a knife and if it comes out clean, you are good to go. Let it cool, then slice it up and shove it in your face. Nom nom nom nom nom….

Deluxe Cocoa Brownies

Deluxe Cocoa Brownies

4 thoughts on “Vegan Baking: Awesome Vegan Brownies.

  1. Juhea

    Oh my. gosh. that looks absolutely divine. I totally get it about stress baking. working with your hands is so therapeutic!
    Also your pantry is 90% like my pantry! yay whole foods sea salt šŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

