Vegan Baking: Carrots and What To Do With Them

So in my Chow Box last week, I received a beautiful bunch of carrots. Those picturesque kinds with the greens still attached. I had every intention of making something healthy and nutritious with them considering the awesome health benefits you get with these little guys.
Let me just break down the nutrition for you real quick:

  • They come in other colors besides orange. Other varieties include purple, red, white, and yellow.
  • They are available year around in most areas but they are truly in season during the summer and fall months-carrots harvested during these months are the most flavorful.
  • You can prepare them many ways- boiling and steaming are the most common. My personal favorites are roasting and baking-(which I will get to in a second)
  • They contain crazy high amounts of potassium and vitamin A which are essential to many functions in the body.

So bottom line, they are tasty and they are good for you.

Back on point, I had this bunch of carrots that needed to get utilized in some way. The fastest way would have been as a snack with some peanut butter or tossed into a salad. But then I thought that’s way too healthy and not nearly enough of a challenge. So I decided to go an entirely different route and make dessert. Yes, sugary little delights that pretty much negate any health aspect of my beautiful carrots. I choose the recipe Carrot Raisin Spice Chews out of Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s and Terry Hope Romero’s Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar. I whipped up these little babies sans raisins because raisins just don’t belong in dessert. All in all, not a bad cookie, satisfied my sweet tooth, and totally justifiable as somewhat healthy because I used more carrots than sugar. I do recommend the Lemon Glaze Frosting suggestion at the end of the recipe; it takes a decent cookie and makes it an awesome cookie (of course using the glaze means using more sugar than carrot thus negating any health factor.)

CARROT COOKIES

Leave a Reply

